Cooks Cycles Nantucket
In 1933 Earl and Ellen Cook Opened the doors to their Bicycle Business for the first time.
It was then located on Charter St. between Fair St. and Orange St. After the War they moved their business to the current building on 6 S. Beach St. This building had been the garage where Mr. Pease had stored his busses and Taxis. In 1947 Howard Long carved the quarter board that graces the front doorway. Shortly thereafter an unknown artist crafted the iconic sign of a girl on a bicycle which has appeared in sign books around the world and hung it from an old harpoon culled from a whaler's attic.
The bike shop was run by Earl and Ellen's grandson Shedden Sanguinetti for many years. Shedden carried on the tradition of serving island visitors and residents with grace and distinction.